• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 DianaVA

DianaVA

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 January 2013 - 07:31 PM

I am new to this. Question... I have watched my granddaughter who is now 9 since she was 18 months. This year my dil decides she is going to change her work hours (she works for her dad) and doesn't need me anymore! Talk about a shock. She doesn't understand that I am really having a hard time with this. NOW when she and my son go out of town she takes both kids to her parents and I am not to feel offended. My grandson is 5. I have MS so it's hard and tiring for me to watch both esp when he is non stop. Am I right to be angry and feel slighted? We only see the granddaughter when we call them and sometimes it's 2 weeks. It's not like we live far away... we can walk to each others houses if we choose. I have gone to having a buddy for all these years to nothing and of course going to hit 60 can't find a job that's for sure.

Any advice would be great. My friend who is a nurse says I need to seek counseling. ???

#2 Eowyn

Eowyn

Equality is Adorable

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3556 posts
  • LocationMid-Atlantic

Posted 22 January 2013 - 07:38 PM

HI Diana, and welcome. There are both Mothers-in-Law and Daughters-in-Law here, so you will get responses from both. I'm a daughter-in-law.